Debunking the myths

Enter Christian single mother of two looking for companion

I roll my eyes at all my friends who ask, “Such a pretty girl like you..? Why are you still single?” As if getting the ideal mate would be a walk in the park… (smirk) I am 34 years old, a mother of two and have two baby daddies. Did I sleep around? No. I was 24 when I had my son. I naively thought ‘he’ would make an honest woman of me. He told me to go find my period where ever I had left it… (shaking head) I didn’t want to have an abortion so I had my son. Realizing I had swallowed off more than I could chew, my mother came to the rescue. She raised my son when I couldn’t and didn’t know how to. Met a man a year later that I dated for 8 years and he could not commit. He was very happy to have me as a girlfriend even a live in partner but marriage as not on the cards. We had a daughter. And I’m stupidly thinking maybe something here will change… Nope. Never happened. Three years later after threats to leave, broken dreams and promises, my daughter and I moved out. There was a lot of brokenness that had to be fixed. Warped and messed up self images and the world’s projection onto me of what I should be, had to be fixed. Enter the love of Jesus and the power of the blood. I’m by no means perfect but knowing your identity in Christ changes you in ways that are supernatural… Yes, that is the perfect word. Supernatural.

And now, here I wait. Single, mother of two, born again, in love with Jesus and wondering if I should not try Christian online dating. Like really… though sometimes I wonder if I really and truly am ready. Sometimes I would really want to know who was ordained for me to spend the rest of my life with. Don’t get me wrong. I have enjoyed the past year as a single woman. There is a lot about me that I didn’t know and I had to discover. I have spent more time getting to know my kids and find my style of parenting. I got to know me.

I love the poem by Janette Ikz – I will wait. And that is what I have resolved to do. Wait. And while I wait, I will love my Lord and my Jesus more.

Abigail Phiri
@theraphafoundation

Leave a comment